CHRS - The Center for Hydrometeorology and Remote Sensing at UCI








CHRS Directory

CHRS Affiliated Faculty

Soroosh Sorooshian, Ph.D.
Director of CHRS
Distinguished Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Distinguished Professor, Earth System Science
Faculty Profile, Engineering Faculty Profile

Office: (949) 824-8825
Fax: (949) 824-8831
Email: soroosh@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175


Kuo-lin Hsu, Ph.D.
Associate Director of CHRS (Precipitation and Flood Modelling)
Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Faculty Profile, Engineering Faculty Profile, Publications

Office: (949) 824-8826
Fax: (949) 824-8831
Email: kuolinh@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175


Phu Nguyen, Ph.D.
Assistant Adjunct Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Engineering Faculty Profile

Office: (949) 824-3865
Fax: (949) 824-8831
Email: ndphu@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Tiantian Yang, Ph.D.
Hydrologist, Deltares USA Inc.
Research Associate, CHRS, University of California, Irvine

Office: (949) 824-1952
Fax: (949) 824-8831
Email: tiantiay@uci.edu
Address: Deltares USA Inc.
Silver Spring, MD 20910, USA

The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Amir Aghakouchak, Ph.D.
Associate Director of CHRS (Drought)
Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Engineering Faculty Profile

Office: (949) 824-9350
Fax: (949) 824-2117
Email: amir.a@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175


Xiaogang Gao, Ph.D.
Emeritus Adjunct Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Faculty Profile

Office: (949) 824-8822
Fax: (949) 824-8831
Email: gaox@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175


Research & Administrative Staff

Name Phone Email
Dan Braithwaite (949) 824-8823 dbraithw@uci.edu
Diane Hohnbaum (949) 824-8821 dhohnbau@uci.edu
Garr Updegraff (949) 824-3865 garru@uci.edu
Phat Kim Huynh (949) 824-3865 huynhpk@uci.edu
Thanh N. Pham (949) 824-3865 thanhnp@uci.edu

Graduate Students

Graduate Students Office Phone: (949)-824-9350

Name Degree Dept. Email
Ai-Ling Jiang Ph.D. CEE jiangal@uci.edu
Ata Akbari Asanjan Ph.D. CEE aakbaria@uci.edu
Baoxiang Pan Ph.D. CEE baoxianp@uci.edu
Eric J. Shearer M.S. CEE eshearer@uci.edu
Hoang Tran Viet Ph.D. CEE htranvie@uci.edu
Jinny Lee Ph.D. CEE jinny.lee@uci.edu
Matin Rahnamay Naeini Ph.D. CEE rahnamam@uci.edu
Mohammad Faridzad Ph.D. CEE mfaridza@uci.edu
Mohammed Omer Ombadi Ph.D. CEE mombadi@uci.edu
Mojtaba Sadeghi Ph.D. CEE mojtabas@uci.edu
Negin Hayatbini Ph.D. CEE nhayatbi@uci.edu
Raied Alharbi Ph.D. CEE rsalharb@uci.edu
Vesta Afzali Ph.D. CEE vafzalig@uci.edu

CEE Dept. CHRS Alumni

Hamid Moradkhani, Ph.D. (2004)
Professor
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Portland State University
Portland, Oregon
Email: hamidm@cecs.pdx.edu
Website: http://pdx.edu/cee/profile/hamid-moradkhani

Huiling Yuan, Ph.D. (2005)
Professor
Nanjing University School of Atmospheric Sciences
and Key Laboratory of Mesoscale Severe Weather/Ministry of Education
Nanjing, P.R.China
Email: yuanhl@nju.edu.cn

Gi-hyeon Park, Ph.D. (2006)
Senior Engineer
Riverside Technology Inc.
2950 E Harmony Road, Suite 390
Fort Collins, CO 80528
Office Phone: (970) 484-7573
Fax: (970) 484-7593
(Cell): (949) 246-5846
Email: tonypark87@gmail.com

Kristie Franz, Ph.D. (2006)
Associate Professor
Department of Geological and Atmospheric Sciences
Iowa State University
Email: kfranz@iastate.edu
Website: http://www.ge-at.iastate.edu/people/faculty/kristie-franz/

Newsha Khodatalab Ajami, Ph.D. (2006)
Director of Urban Water Policy
NSF ERC Ctr, Stanford University, CA
Email: newsha.ajami@gmail.com

Hun Kyun Bae, Ph.D. (2007)
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Global Environment
Keimyung University, South Korea
Email: hunkyunbae@kmu.ac.kr

Farid Ishak-Boushaki, Ph.D. (2007)
Associate Water Engineer
City of Riverside, CA
Email: fboushaki@riversideca.gov

Marc Ferrer Capdevila, M.S. (2007)
Logistics Director, Frigicoll
Barcelona, Spain
MBA (2013)ESADE Business School, Barcelona, Spain
Email: marcferrerc@gmail.com

Prashant R. Kuranjekar, M.S. (2007)
Sr. Geospatial Solution Architect
BEM Systems, Inc.
Greater New York City Area
Email: prashant.kuranjekar@gmail.com
MBA, University of South Florida

Ali Behrangi, Ph.D. (2009)
Research Scientist
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, NASA
4800 Oak Grove Drive, Pasadena, CA 91109
(Cell): (949) 302-3688
Email: ali.behrangi@jpl.nasa.gov

Wei Chu, Ph.D. (2009)
Chief Technology Officer (CTO)
Bloomsky Inc.
1295 El Camino Real, Suite A
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Email: wei@bloomsky.com

Behnaz Khakbaz, Ph.D. (2010)
Project Engineer
IDModeling Inc.
Arcadia, CA 91006
Email: behnaz@idmodeling.com

Ali Zahraei, Ph.D. (2011)
Data Scientist
Becton, Dickinson and Company (BD)
San Diego, CA
Email: ali.zahraei@bd.com

Rebeka Sultana, Ph.D. (2011)
Assistant Professor
Civil Engineering and Construction Engineering Management
California State University, Long Beach
Email: rsultana@csulb.edu

Qing "Alex" Xia, Ph.D. (2011)
Software Engineer II
Uber
San Francisco, CA
Email: qxia@uci.edu

Tsou Chun "Joey" Jaw, Ph.D. (2011)
Research Scientist
Feng-Chia University (FCU) Research Institute, Taiwan
Email: joejaw@gmail.com

Jingjing Li, Ph.D. (2012)
Assistant Professor
California State University, Los Angeles
Office: KH-D4045
Office Telephone: (323) 343-2224
(Cell): (949) 648-8540
Email: jli104@calstatela.edu

Nasrin Nasrollahi, Ph.D. (2014)
Process Engineer
Orange County Sanitation District
Email: nnasrollahi@ocsd.com

Hamed Ashouri, Ph.D. (2014)
Lead Catastrophe Modeler
RMS, LearnData Analysis
San Francisco, CA
Email: h.ashouri@uci.edu

Scott Sellars, Ph.D. (2014), M.S. (2012)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Center for Western Weather and Water Extremes (CW3E)
University of California, San Diego
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Email: scottsellars@ucsd.edu

Phu Dinh Nguyen, Ph.D. (2014)
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering Dept
University of California, Irvine
Email: ndphu@uci.edu

Liu Hao, Ph.D. (2015)
Engineer/Designer
VCA Engineer Inc.
Alhambra, Los Angeles, CA
Email: liuh1@uci.edu

Sepideh Sarachi, Ph.D. (2015)
Technical Environmental II
Amec Foster Wheeler
Irvine, CA 92617
Email: ssarachi@uci.edu

Andrea Thorstensen, Ph.D. (2016)
National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow
Physical Sciences Division
NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
Email: andrea.thorstensen@noaa.gov

Negar Karbalaee, Ph.D. (2017)
Post-Doctoral Scholar
Email: nkarbala@uci.edu

Yumeng Tao, Ph.D. (2017), M.S. (2016)
Research Scientist
Facebook, Inc.
New York, NY
Email: yumengt@uci.edu