top banner
top banner

CHRS Directory

CHRS Affiliated Faculty

Soroosh Sorooshian, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Distinguished Professor, Earth System Science
Faculty Profile, Engineering Faculty Profile
Office:
Fax:
Email:
(949) 824-8825
(949) 824-8831
soroosh@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Xiaogang Gao, Ph.D.
Emeritus Adjunct Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Faculty Profile, Engineering Faculty Profile
Office:
Fax:
Email:
(949) 824-8822
(949) 824-8831
gaox@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Kuo-lin Hsu, Ph.D.
Director of CHRS (Precipitation and Flood Modelling) and Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Faculty Profile, Engineering Faculty Profile Publications
Office:
Fax:
Email:
(949) 824-8826
(949) 824-8831
kuolinh@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Amir Aghakouchak, Ph.D.
Associate Director of CHRS (Drought) and Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Faculty Profile,
Office:
Fax:
Email:
(949) 824-9350
(949) 824-2117
amir.a@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Phu Nguyen, Ph.D.
Assistant Adjunct Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Engineering Faculty Profile,
Office:
Fax:
Email:
(949) 824-3865
(949) 824-8831
ndphu@uci.edu
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Project Scientists/Research Associates
Tiantian Yang, Ph.D.
Hydrologist,
Deltares USA Inc.
Silver Spring, MD 20910, USA
and
Research Associate
Center of Hydrometeorology and Remote Sensing
University of California, Irvine
(c ) (949) 378-0928 ; (o)949-824-1952
Email: tiantiay@uci.edu or tiantiay@gmail.com
Address: The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering zotcode 2175
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2175

Postdoctoral Scholars
Name Phone Email

Research & Administrative Staff
Name Phone Email
Dan Braithwaite (949) 824-8823 dbraithw@uci.edu
Diane Hohnbaum (949) 824-8821 dhohnbau@uci.edu

Graduate Students
Name Degree - Dept. Email
Negar Karbalaee Ph.D. CEE nkarbala@uci.edu
Raied Alharbi Ph.D. CEE rsalharb@uci.edu
Ata Akbari Asanjan Ph.D. CEE aakbaria@uci.edu
Mohammad Faridzad Ph.D. CEE mfaridza@uci.edu
Negin Hayatbini Ph.D. CEE nHayatbi@uci.edu
Baoxiang Pan Ph.D. CEE baoxianp@uci.edu
Hoang Tran Viet Ph.D. CEE htranvie@uci.edu
Jinny Lee Ph.D. CEE jinny.lee@uci.edu
Mohammad Omer Umbadi Ph.D. CEE mailto:mombadi@uci.edu
Matin Rahnamay Naeini Ph.D. CEE rahnamam@uci.edu

Undergraduate Assistants
Name Degree-Dept Email

CEE Dept. CHRS ALUMNI
Newsha Khodatalab Ajami, Ph.D. (2006)
Director of Urban Water Policy
Water in the West/ERC-ReNUWIt
Stanford University
Email: newsha.ajami@gmail.com
Hun Kyun Bae, Ph.D. (2007)
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Global Environment
Keimyung University, S. Korea
Email: hunkyunbae@kmu.ac.kr
Ali Behrangi, Ph.D. (2009)
Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
4800 Oak Grove Drive, Pasadena, CA 91109
(C) (949) 302-3688
Email: ali.behrangi@jpl.nasa.gov
Kristie Franz, Ph.D. (2006)
Associate Professor
Department of Geological and Atmospheric Sciences
Iowa State University
Email: kfranz@iastate.edu
Website: http://www.ge-at.iastate.edu/people/faculty/kristie-franz/
Farid Ishak-Boushaki, Ph.D. (2007)
Associate Water Engineer
City of Riverside, CA
Email: fboushaki@riversideca.gov
Tsou Chun "Joey" Jaw. Ph.D. (2011)
Research Scientist
Feng-Chia University (FCU) Research Institute, Taiwan
Email: joejaw@gmail.com
Behnaz Khakbaz, Ph.D. (2010)
Project Engineer
IDModeling Inc.
Email: Behnaz@idmodeling.com
Hamid Moradkhani, Ph.D. (2004)
Professor
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Portland State University, Portland, Oregon
Email: hamidm@cecs.pdx.edu
Website: http://pdx.edu/cee/profile/hamid-moradkhani
Gi-hyeon Park, Ph.D. (2006)
Senior Engineer, Riverside Technology Inc.
2950 E Harmony Road, Suite 390
Fort Collins, CO 80528
Office Phone: (970) 484-7573
Fax: (970) 484-7593
(cell) (949) 246-5846
Email: tonypark87@gmail.com
Rebeka Sultana, Ph.D. (2011)
Assistant Professor
Civil Engineering and Construction Engineering Management
California State University, Long Beach
Email: rsultana@csulb.edu
Qing "Alex" Xia, Ph.D. (2011)
Software Engineer II
Uber
San Francisco, CA
Email: qxia@uci.edu
Huiling Yuan, Ph.D. (2005)
Professor
Nanjing University School of Atmospheric Sciences
and Key Laboratory of Mesoscale Severe Weather/Ministry of Education
Nanjing, P.R.China
Email: yuanhl@nju.edu.cn
Ali Zahraei, Ph.D. (2011)
Data Scientist
Becton, Dickinson and Company (BD)
San Diego, CA
Email: ali.zahraei@bd.com
Wei Chu, Ph.D. (2009)
Chief Technology Officer (CTO)
Bloomsky Inc.
1295 El Camino Real, Suite A
Menlo Park, California 94025
Email: wei@bloomsky.com
Jingjing Li, Ph.D. (2012)
Assistant Professor
California State University, Los Angeles
Office: KH-D4045
Office Telephone: (323)343-2224
(c) Tele: (949) 648-8540
Email: jli104@calstatela.edu
Nasrin Nasrollahi, Ph.D., P.E. (2014)
Process Engineer
Orange County Sanitation District
Email: nnasrollahi@ocsd.com
Phu Dinh Nguyen, Ph.D. (2014)
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering Dept
University of California, Irvine
Email: ndphu@uci.edu
Scott Sellars (Ph.D. 2014, M.S. 2012)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Center for Western Weather and Water Extremes (CW3E)
University of California, San Diego
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Email: scottsellars@ucsd.edu
Hao Liu, Ph.D. (2015)
Assistant Project Engineer
VCA Engineer Inc
Los Angeles, CA
Email: mailto:hao1026@gmail.com
Hamed Ashouri, Ph.D. (2014)
Lead Catastrophe Modeler
RMS, LearnData Analysis
San Francisco, CA
Email: h.ashouri@uci.edu
Sepideh Sarachi, Ph.D. (2015)
Technical Environmental II
Amec Foster Wheeler
Irvine, CA 92617
Email: ssarachi@uci.edu
Andrea Thorstensen, Ph.D. (2016)
Physical Sciences Division
NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
Email: andrea.thorstensen@noaa.gov
Yumeng Tao, Ph.D., (Ph.D.2017, M.S. 2016)
Facebook
New York, NY
Email: yumengt@uci.edu

MS Recipients
Marc Ferrer Capdevila (2007)
Logistics Director, Frigicoll
Barcelona, Spain
MBA (2013)ESADE Business School, Barcelona, Spain
Email: marcferrerc@gmail.com
Prashant R. Kuranjekar (2007)
Sr. Geospatial Solution Architect
BEM Systems, Inc.
Greater New York City Area
Email: prashant.kuranjekar@gmail.com
MBA, University of South Florida